Sort through paper products.

Monday is Memorial Day.  While it is a solemn holiday, it is considered the kick-off to the barbecue and cook-out season.  So today, sort through your paper products.  Take inventory of your paper plates, plastic cups, plastic silverware, and paper napkins.  Don’t buy more this summer if you don’t need to.

I actually did this about a month before my preschooler’s birthday this year.  I realized that I had white plates, black plates, white and black damask plates, pink plates, and red plates, all from my preschooler’s previous birthday parties.  (I also had red Christmas-themed cups and plastic Solo cups and a slew of white paper napkins.)  And then I didn’t buy any paper products for her birthday this year because I had enough that matched the theme we went with.

One more thing:  If you can avoid using paper and plastic disposable products, please do so.  Not only are reusable products better for the environment than disposable products, but also you can save money over the life of the reusable products.  I bought some gorgeous melamine, dishwasher-safe plates and bowls earlier this year from Big Lots for $2.50 each, and I love them.

Time required:  Less than 5 minutes.

Leave a Reply

