Sort through your jewelry.

By now, you should be finished or nearly finished sorting through your clothing.  The task for the next few days is to sort through your jewelry.

If you have sentimental jewelry that you have no intention of wearing, I would recommend putting it in a safe or safe deposit box along with a note of the jewelry’s significance.  Otherwise, if you have jewelry you haven’t worn in ages, consider donating it to the local thrift store.  If you have damaged jewelry (I have a pearl necklace with a broken clasp, for example), get it repaired.

One note:  I’ve simplified my worries in the last couple of years by focusing on wearing jewelry that doesn’t feel irreplaceable.  For example, the “diamond” earrings and pendant I wear on a daily basis don’t contain real diamonds.  I’m content now with lab-created sapphires and emeralds because I don’t worry about losing them in public.  I still wear my diamond engagement ring, but other than that, most of my “public” jewelry was $50 or less.

Time required:  An hour or so for me, mainly because I have a hard time parting with items with a sentimental attachment, such as the myriad pieces of jewelry I received over the years for participating in various weddings.

Leave a Reply

