Sort through the clothing in your closet.

Yesterday, you prepared for organizing your closet.  Now it’s just time to do it.  Spend some time over the next two weeks trying on clothes, deciding what clothes fit, what clothes don’t, what clothes need maintenance, and what clothes just need to be donated because you don’t love them.

If you have clothing that needs to be mended, either start mending it on your own if you have sewing skills or find a tailor.  If you can’t afford to take all of your to-be-mended clothing at one time, take one article of clothing to the tailor a week or month.

If you have clothing that you’ve outgrown but hope to get back into, I would suggest putting it into a storage container such as a Sterlite container.  Give yourself 3 or 6 months.  If you’re no closer to getting back into the clothing, sell or donate it.

One final issue:  What do you do with old prom dresses and wedding dresses?  I still have three of my favorite special occasion (two are prom dresses; one was for a Halloween party) dresses, and I still have my wedding dress.  But I have donated all of my other special occasion dresses, several of them to charities that provide special occasion dresses for girls who might not be able to afford them otherwise.  Do what feels comfortable to you.

Once you get to the end of this task, take a look at your closet and decide what you need, if anything.  For example, I know I’m going to need to replace two of my turtleneck sweaters.  (I know people make fun of them, but I think they are classic in black and white!)  I need to find some dress flats, and my husband has encouraged me to replace my flip-flops and buy a pair of boots for winter.  My husband needs a host of new polo shirts because his are fading despite my consistent usage of Woolite.  (He also needs to discard a grey sweater that has a pull in it, but I think I am going to have to do that one day soon because he seems to be delaying that decision.)

Use this time over the next few weeks to purge your closet and freshen your wardrobe.

Time required:  Days and days.  But fortunately, less than 5 minutes a day.  🙂

Leave a Reply

