Bonus task: Sort through your cleaning supplies.

I don’t know about the weather in your neck of the woods, but in Virginia, the weather is gorgeous right now!  I’m looking forward to spring!

At any rate, spring cleaning is coming up soon, so today, I urge you to sort through your cleaning supplies–and organize them if you need to.  I keep all of our cleaners in a Simplify plastic herringbone storage tote (large size–13.75 x 11.5 x 8.75 inches), which I found at Burlington Coat Factory for $6.99.  The tote has handles and slides nicely into my linen closet but can also be pulled out easily and taken around the house with me as I clean.

Inside the tote is a number of spray bottles, all of which I purchased at Dollar Tree.  I have all of them labeled:  all-purpose cleaner, glass cleaner, carpet cleaner, wood polish, etc.  I also have a (old–I don’t buy these any longer) large grated Parmesan bottle with the label removed; I use it to empty baking soda in each month after I change my refrigerator and freezer boxes.  All of my bottles are labeled with Oracal 651 vinyl I cut with my Silhouette Cameo.  If you don’t have a Silhouette, label yours however you prefer.  I would advise against using paper labels (alone anyway) with liquids; they will likely be ruined fairly quickly.  You could use paper label and tape over the entire face of the label with clear mailing tape.  You could also write on your bottles with a Sharpie marker for simplicity’s sake.

I have my tote labeled, too, as part of a larger scheme of organizing the linen closet.  More on that later.

Time required:  About an hour, but I had to clean my basket, and I made new labels for my spray bottles.

Leave a Reply

