Scan your insurance paperwork.

Two days ago you located your insurance paperwork, and yesterday you put it in a safe location.  Today, I suggest you scan your insurance paperwork if you have access to a scanner.  Or, even better, if you have access to PDF copies to your insurance documents (such as your automobile insurance policy declarations, for example), download those.  Just make sure that whatever documents are in your insurance folder in your safe or safe deposit box are also on your computer.

Why?  Things happen.  Always keep back-ups.  It’s just the smart thing to do.

If you don’t have a scanner, I would recommend getting one.  Maybe you will just download a scanner app on your iPhone or Android.  Or maybe you want a NeatDesk scanner.  (Just a note:  I have a friend who loves hers, but the reviews aren’t very good, and I had a client who was not particularly fond of his.)  I have an Epson Workforce WF-3520 all-in-one wireless printer/scanner/fax, and I have a love-hate relationship with it, but it does scan documents very well and has a feeder.  Again, do your research and get what works for you.

Time required:  Hours, because I had pages and pages of life insurance records to scan, and I did not unstaple those and laid them down on the flatbed scanner one page at a time.  I hope your process is quicker!

Leave a Reply

